Hugo Pratt, the famous author was born just a few steps away.
PALAZZO LOREDAN RUZZINI PRIULI from some time now RUZZINI PALACE
Built during the late XVI century and early XVII century, Palazzo Loredan Ruzzini Priuli, as it was originally named, allowed the building to embody a dualistic expression as it transitioned from the renaissance to the baroque period. The rio del Paradiso façade dates back to the 1500s while the façade overlooking the campo preludes the Baroque period. The palazzo belongs to the architectural heritage of Venice, overseen by the Superintendence, for its historical and artistic value. The current refurbishment recaptures the building's original design and detailing, like the large portego (the lounge that stretches along the entire side wing of the residence), the exposed beams, Venetian-style floors, and, above all, once again proudly showcases the paintings by Gregorio Lazzarini (1655 – 1730). The teacher of Giambattista Tiepolo, Lazzarini's frescoes depicting mythological scenes, "Juno's Chariot" and "Zephyr and Flora", that today grace the Royal Suite of the Ruzzini Palace, were commissioned to the artist by Carlo Ruzzini, the 113th Doge of Venice.
Photo by Courtesy of Ruzzini Palace
The hotel overlooks campo Santa Maria Formosa on one side, and rio del Paradiso on the other, and still maintains a water entrance, which once was the main entry.
(The hotel's present day design was entrusted to the architect Bartolomeo Manopola, whose Venetian works includes the marble façade of the clock overlooking the Ducal Palace courtyard.)